GeekInTheStacks, version 2.0

It’s been a little over 90 days since I resumed blogging.  My original blog yielded about 10 posts in 5 months.  This will be my 20th post in 3 months on a wide variety of topics ranging from writing effective emails to movies about the Macintosh community.  Time to think about what is next for GeekInTheStacks!

I have been studying a lot of other blogs recently, making a list of what I find appealing about them.  Also, I have been reading articles on how to create successful blogs that people are interested in.  

This has caused me to start thinking about GeekInTheStacks 2.0.  I think it’s time for some changes to increase my enjoyment of writing as well as adding value to my reader’s experience.

Some of the areas I am going to start with first include:

  • Time to move off of WordPress’s free service.  It has been great.  However, I am starting to bump up against some it’s limitations.  I am still going to use WordPress however when I move the blog.
  • Also, time to get my own domain, again.  I hope this brings some exposure and will allow flexibility for future growth.  It needs to be cost effective and allow me to use WordPress.  I think GoDaddy.com will work nicely.
  • Time to focus on my actual writing skills, in particular: grammar, context, and writing with a clear, concise point.  I took a writing course back in the fall, time to start applying those skills.
  • It’s time to consider narrowing the focus on my blog.  My current topics are a mix of technology, productivity, leadership, and personal postings.  I may consider spinning off my personal postings into a second blog that would attract a different audience then my primary blog.

So what am I hoping to accomplish from all this?

  1. First and foremost, I want to enjoy writing.  I have found writing to be an enjoyable, creative outlet that I want to focus more time on.  
  2. I’d like to leave a mark, in some way.  It could be in the form of being asked to write a guest post on one of my favorite blogs, being recognized in the library industry, or to have a loyal group of followers.  Don’t know what it is yet, but I want to find it.
  3. I’m not in this for the money…today.  Someday I may want want to augment my income by writing.  For now I am happy to write content that I hope is meaningful to others.

So bear with me as I begin to make changes over the next 90 days.  Thanks for visiting, and I hope you continue to come back!

Thanks to several resources that been helpful:

Problogger.net

Blogopolis Blueprint

Chris Brogan.com

How to Make My Blog

3 Responses to “GeekInTheStacks, version 2.0”


  1. 1 Marko Saric January 24, 2009 at 7:28 pm

    You came to some nice conclusions Greg!

    Having your own domain name, having a real blogging platform, and having a blog with focused content are great steps to take.

    Just a note on guest posts: I would recommend going for it. Write a post and contact a big blogger. Waiting for them to come to you might take a long time. Just go and grab it yourself.

    Thanks for linking to my blog…

  2. 2 Greg Syferd January 24, 2009 at 7:57 pm

    @ Marko Thanks for stopping by and keep up the good work on your end!

  3. 3 Eric Hamm January 24, 2009 at 11:26 pm

    Hey Greg, you’re on the right track. I like how you’re driven to move forward, but not unrealistically so. Definitely move to a domain and self hosting setup and you’ll be much happier. Let us at the Blueprint know how things are coming along anytime. We love to see up-and-comers start moving forward and making their mark.

    Also, you and me, we share the common bond of love for 1’s and 0’s. BTW, War Games vs Hackers vs Sneakers vs The Net vs Tron? I want them rated from best to worst. NOW GO!!! 🙂 Eric


Leave a Reply

Welcome

My name is Greg Syferd. Here I share my thoughts, ideas, and random stuff I come across. For work, I am a Systems Manager at the Columbus Metropolitan Library. When unplugged I'm a husband/father, read books, and aspire to be a photographer.
Follow me on Twitter @ http://twitter.com/gsyferd

Previous Postings


